Archive Sign My Guestbook Post

I’m trying to make my guestbook blog a bit more user-friendly and intuitive, and have set up three pages: a Guestbook Home (this is mainly about the story), About (this is mainly about me), and Reprise (this is mainly  additional related information).

I have copied the original comments entered in response to this post (originally, “Sign my Guestbook”) to the “Guestbook Home” page.  I decided to keep this “post” to be able to retain the original responses to this post.

I really look forward to reading your comments, so if you’ve arrived at this blog, please go to my Guestbook Home, About or Reprise page and leave us a note.

– duane

About RetiredMSG

Master Sergeant (E-8), US Army (Retired) (10/01/1990) MOS 98Z50, 98C source MOS Ft. Dix, NJ; Ft. Devens, MA; 8th RRFS Phu Bai, RVN; 407th RRD Quang Tri, RVN; 313th ASA Bn, Ft. Bragg, NC; Defense Language Institute-East Coast, Anacostia, MD; 1st USASAFS Vint Hill Farms Station, Warrenton, VA; Consolidated Security Operations Center, San Antonio, TX; HQ USASA Arlington Hall Station, Arlington, VA; Advanced Non-Commissioned Officers Education School, Ft. Devens, MA; 330th EW Avn Co (Fwd), Kaiserslautern/Gruenstadt, GE; HQ USAINSCOM Arlington Hall Station, Arlington, VA; 370th EW Co (HF DF Rear), Vint Hill Farms Station, Warrenton, VA; AFCENT Reserve Corps (Fwd), Maastricht, NL; HQ USAINSCOM Arlington Hall Station, Arlington, VA; HQ USAINSCOM Nolan Building, Ft. Belvoir, VA DoD Civilian (Retired) (12/31/2012) 2009 - 2012 Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence 2010 - 2011 U.S. Forces - Iraq/Iraqi Training and Advisory Mission - Intelligence Department of the Army Civilian 2002 - 2009 Hq Department of the Army, Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Intelligence 1990 - 2002 Hq U.S. Army Intelligence and Security Command
This entry was posted in combat experience, vietnam veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Archive Sign My Guestbook Post

  1. Gordon morton says:

    Thanx, Duane. Reading all the entries helps refreshing my memories of my time there, MACV TM155, QTCB, 9/71-5/72. I do, of course, remember the extraction as I was on the 3rd Jolly out of the Citadel.
    I hope the stories and the photos continue finding their way to your site.
    Gordon Morton, MACV TM155

    Like

    • RetiredMSG says:

      Hey Gordon, great to hear from you, thanks for leaving a nice comment on The Last Seven Days guestbook site. It’s been interesting reading the stories that I’ve been sent, and I’m glad to be able to put them up for folks like us to read. It also helps to reconnect folks who are interested in reestablishing old relationships.

      Thanks for your service to our great Nation,

      regards,

      – duane

      Like

  2. Kenneth Harrison "Duke" says:

    I was with the 407th from May of ’71 to early March ’72 as a 98G spent most of my time on Sarge and Camp Carroll knew Gary pretty well thanks for the memories those are times I’ll never forget.

    Like

  3. Tom Zero says:

    I was w/ MACV Team 155 since its inception. I was assigned to the 3d ARVN Div TOC and worked for Maj James Davis and SFC Wm Seymour in G3. Was there the day the offensive started. Still have a chunk of 130mm shrapnel that ricocheted off the TOC’s steel entry door and zinged down the hallway. I recall you guys being around but don’t believe I ever met any. My hoochmate was an RTO, SP4 Gordon Morton, who also worked the MARS. We still keep in touch today. We pulled back to the Citadel in QT until extraction at the last minute. Can’t recall if any of you guys were still w/ us or not. As we were in an open area awaiting the Jolly Greens took some rounds that were duds…the NVA didn’t know how to fuse captured 105s that the ARVNs deserted w/o destroying. Pucker factor was high! We’ve taken a lot of flack over the incident…some deserved, but not most of it. It’s all history now !!
    Good site-brought back a lot of old memories.

    Like

  4. robert larry smith says:

    duane, I contacted you before (I was an mp at the 407th the last days of the 407th) and enjoyed your article and the updated pages. I have contact with Michael Iocca who was also there at that time. We are planning a reunion the first week of April 2010 in Vegas with others who were in Phu Bai (MPs). I just got back from a vacation out west and saw five of the guys ( John Eiband-wounded in Phu Bai, Michael Bridges, Alan Bal, George Wallis, and Bob Witry, don’t know if you know them. I’m still trying to contact some of the guys from the 407th (Nolan and Shaffer) and I think that Don Ecker had contacted you (the MP that was hit). Do you remember Gary Westcott’s friend that was usually with him at Sarge, he was tall and kinda slim. He was not with Gary when he was killed. If there is any info that I can relay to you on anyone that was there please contact me. larry smith

    Like

  5. Paul F Nett, SFC Retired says:

    Your site was revealed on the COMSEC site. I am a Vet of Chui Lai, 328th RRC and 2nd Plt 101 RRC from October 1968 thru March 18, 1971.

    Thank you for your history with your unit!

    Paul F Nett

    Like

Leave a Reply

